For Programmers: Free Programming Magazines  


Home > Archive > Computer Tech Support > August 2004 > Finding out who's IP address has accessed my account.









You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

 

Author Finding out who's IP address has accessed my account.
Steve

2004-08-25, 8:57 am

I have recently recieved an email from ebay stating that an unusual ip
address has tried to access my account. How can I find who's address it
is.......

The details are as follows.

IP Address 205.188.209.166
ISP host: cache-dq04.proxy.aol.com

Many thanks

Steve

--
Q: How do you circumcise a Peterboro fan?
A: Kick his sister in the jaw.



TerryNC

2004-08-25, 8:57 am

I dont think ebay sent that email...

"Steve" <no_email@manythanks.com> wrote in message
news:cgarp9$4al$1@news8.svr.pol.co.uk...
> I have recently recieved an email from ebay stating that an unusual ip
> address has tried to access my account. How can I find who's address it
> is.......
>
> The details are as follows.
>
> IP Address 205.188.209.166
> ISP host: cache-dq04.proxy.aol.com
>
> Many thanks
>
> Steve
>
> --
> Q: How do you circumcise a Peterboro fan?
> A: Kick his sister in the jaw.
>
>
>



Solar Nowhere

2004-08-25, 8:57 am

I agree. Also if in the same email they asked you to confirm
your username and password, don't do it! It definately wasn't
ebay sending you the mail.

"TerryNC" <rebelrebel@hotNOTSOmail.com> wrote in message
news:10ihsvreqblu00b@corp.supernews.com...
> I dont think ebay sent that email...
>
> "Steve" <no_email@manythanks.com> wrote in message
> news:cgarp9$4al$1@news8.svr.pol.co.uk...
>
>



Gimpy

2004-08-25, 8:57 am

Try here, ip addy is for american on line !
http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl

"Solar Nowhere" <spambam@nothankuman.com> wrote in message
news:Iy7Wc.766$IX2.388@newsfe2-gui.ntli.net...
> I agree. Also if in the same email they asked you to confirm
> your username and password, don't do it! It definately wasn't
> ebay sending you the mail.
>
> "TerryNC" <rebelrebel@hotNOTSOmail.com> wrote in message
> news:10ihsvreqblu00b@corp.supernews.com...
unusual ip[vbcol=seagreen]
address it[vbcol=seagreen]
>
>



Sponsored Links







Also available: Server administration forum archive | Web Design forum archive | Software forum archive | Hardware reviews archive

Copyright 2012 codecomments.com